Arctic claims

January 29, 2009

Bush issues U.S. policy on Arctic energy supplies

In addition to Russia and the United States, the other countries that claim territory in the Arctic are Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and Finland.

I’m writing to let you know about errors in this article.  You fail to mention Canada as one of the nations with claims, and incorrectly identify Greenland as a country, which it is not technically for another 6 months.

David B.

Several readers noticed these. We corrected: GBU Editor

A polar bear sow and two cubs are seen on the Beaufort Sea coast within the 1002 Area of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in this undated handout photo provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Join the Facebook Good, Bad, Ugly Blog Network

No comments so far

We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of Reuters. For more information on our comment policy, see