The Great Debate (India)

Who will win the 2011 cricket World Cup?

Who will win the 2011 cricket World Cup?Mahendra Singh Dhoni and his men will have to work hard to justify their favourites’ tag as India begins its quest for World Cup glory in the Feb. 19 – April 2 cricket tournament.

Fourteen teams have been divided into two groups for the tournament, co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, with the top four from each division advancing to the quarter-finals.

In Group A, defending champions Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka would have to seriously under-perform to miss qualifying ahead of Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya.

Group B holds marginally more interest. Bangladesh barely hold their own in test cricket but they can be a force in the one-day game, especially on their own pitches as a 4-0 drubbing of New Zealand late last year testified.