Photographers' Blog

The crowd-pleasing MTV awards

June 7, 2012

By Mario Anzuoni

I was assigned to cover this year’s MTV Movie Awards. These awards are voted by audiences online and besides some of the traditional awards, they also give out unique ones, such as: the “best on-screen dirtbag,” the “best kiss” and “best fight” award.

The problem with prizes

January 16, 2012

By Radu Sigheti

As I prepared pictures to submit to a contest I could not stop thinking that all these past years the main photo contests chose their winners from among the pictures depicting wars and conflicts. I think that this year will be the same, due to the many bloody events around the world.

Adrees Latif wins ICP Infinity Award for Photojournalism

February 8, 2011

Marooned flood victims looking to escape grab the side bars of a hovering Army helicopter which arrived to distribute food supplies in the Muzaffargarh district of Pakistan's Punjab province August 7, 2010.  REUTERS/Adrees Latif

Pakistan chief photographer Adrees Latif has won the prestigious ICP Infinity Award in Photojournalism for his outstanding coverage of last year’s Pakistan floods. Working under the most difficult of conditions he led the Reuters pictures team to tell the story from every possible angle. His images were published daily across international front pages, bringing attention to the enormity of the catastrophe from its early stages. Latif’s work has received numerous industry accolades including the Pulitzer prize for Breaking News Photography in 2008.

Reuters aces Canadian Photos of the Year competition

April 28, 2009

Reuters News has aced four categories, as well as ranking in three other categories, in the annual News Photographers Association of Canada Photos of the Year competition. This year’s competition drew over 2,000 entries from 125 photographers. Thomas Szlukovenyi, Global Editor of Pictures, said “These awards pay tribute to the high quality of Reuters photography and further cement our reputation with clients as the leading source of photojournalism in Canada. Congratulations to all the winners.”