ICC name best test team of all time. Right or wrong?

July 18, 2011

The ICC has unveiled the best test team of all time as voted for by fans on the governing body’s website. The ICC offered a shortlist to choose from.

Here it is:

Virender Sehwag

Sunil Gavaskar

Donald Bradman

Sachin Tendulkar

Brian Lara

Kapil Dev

Adam Gilchrist (wk)

Shane Warne

Wasim Akram

Curtly Ambrose

Glenn McGrath

Is it a bit 1980s focused? No Englishmen either but maybe that is not a big shock. Sehwag probably the biggest surprise.

These sort of polls are done almost weekly and discussed in bars around the world.  The debate certainly won’t end with this list but ahead of the 2,000th test later this week between England and India, it’s a nice reminder of what a wonderful sport cricket is.


We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of Reuters. For more information on our comment policy, see http://blogs.reuters.com/fulldisclosure/2010/09/27/toward-a-more-thoughtful-conversation-on-stories/

its absolutely non sense
u cant leave dravid and laxman out of any test team
sachin should not be there in the list
ricky ponting should also be there
and inzamam ul haq is also better than sachin
this team is absolutely rubbish manipulated by bcci

Posted by vivek101 | Report as abusive

As per my knowledge some legends are missing named as:
1) Gary sobbers
2) Richard Headly
3) Mutthiah Murlidharan
4) Kumar Sangakara(Best test wicket keeper batsman instead of Adam Gilchrist)

Sir Don Bradman should be the captain.

Posted by kartikshah | Report as abusive